What I’m Reading: The Cutaway

I just finished up listening to the audio book The Cutaway: A Thriller  by Christina Kovac.  I’ve been burning through my Audible credits a little faster than I should so I went over to my online library and decided I’d see if there was something I could find.  I like to save my Audible credits in case someone recommends a book that my online library doesn’t have.  I came up with this book in my search.  One of the reasons I decided to give it a try was because they compared the book to Gone Girl and I liked that book.

Image result for the cutaway book
So did I like it….Yes I liked the premise of the story.  The thriller part was pretty good.  I liked experiencing the detective part of the story through the eyes of a television news perspective.  Most stories have private eyes, police officers and the like.  This was nice that it was different.

Here’s what Amazon has to say:The Cutaway draws you into the tangled world of corruption and cover-up as a young television producer investigates the disappearance of a beautiful Georgetown lawyer in this stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn.

When brilliant TV news producer Virginia Knightly receives a disturbing “MISSING” notice on her desk related to the disappearance of a beautiful young attorney, she can’t seem to shake the image from her head. Despite skepticism from her colleagues, Knightly suspects this ambitious young lawyer may be at the heart of something far more sinister, especially since she was last seen leaving an upscale restaurant after a domestic dispute. Yet, as the only woman of power at her station, Knightly quickly finds herself investigating on her own.

Risking her career, her life, and perhaps even her own sanity, Knightly dives deep into the dark underbelly of Washington, DC business and politics in an investigation that will drag her mercilessly through the inextricable webs of corruption that bind the press, the police, and politics in our nation’s capital.”

Amazon readers give the book 4.2 stars.  I’d agree.  The book was good and I recommend it but don’t know that it’s not way better than any other mystery/thriller.

1 thought on “What I’m Reading: The Cutaway

  1. Teri

    I read you review of The Cutaway and located a copy in audiobook form at my local library. I too use Audible but only if I cannot locate the item I am looking for at the library. Much cheaper!
    There is a great read (listen) in a book titled The Memory Man by David Baldacci.
    Happy quilting and listening!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *