What I’m Reading: Sarah Plain and Tall

Last week I had to take a couple trips down to Waterloo.  I was attending a training class for Child Care Resource and Referral.  Some of you might not know but I do some free lance training for child care providers with them.  It’s about an hour drive and of course, I needed a book to make the commute tolerable.

I put the audio book Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan on my phone and away I drove leaving Kelli to manage my childcare kiddos.

I have LONG loved this book.  Years ago I read it to Kalissa when she was little and often the kids would watch the Hallmark movie that was made from the book.  If you have grandchildren or little kids in your life, I highly recommend reading the book to them.  Amazon recommends that readers can be from age 6-10.  As a mom, I was more likely to follow through with reading time if I enjoyed the book too and this one, I always did!

Here’s what Amazon has to say about it, “Did Mama sing every day?” Caleb asks his sister Anna.

“Every-single-day,” she answers. “Papa sang, too.”

This Newbery Medal–winning book is the first of five books in Patricia MacLachlan’s chapter book series about the Witting family. Set in the late nineteenth century and told from young Anna’s point of view,Sarah, Plain and Tall tells the story of how Sarah Elisabeth Wheaton comes from Maine to the prairie to answer Papa’s advertisement for a wife and mother. Before Sarah arrives, Anna and her younger brother Caleb wait and wonder. Will Sarah be nice? Will she sing? Will she stay?

This children’s literature classic is perfect for fans of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House on the Prairie books, historical fiction, and timeless stories using rich and beautiful language. Sarah, Plain and Tallgently explores themes of abandonment, loss and love.”

The book is REALLY short..only 76 pages.  But a lot of story is packed in there!

Well HAPPY ME!!  I read the review and discovered there are several more books to the series.  I knew there was a second book but didn’t know there were several more.  I am off to check them out.  By the way for me…the is a 5 star book all the way!!

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Sarah Plain and Tall

  1. Gretchen

    Love the books. Last week my grands were here for a visit and one of the movies we watch was Skylark. These are great books/movies for children. I wish there were more like these.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.