What I’m Reading: Me Before You

Mary over at Country Threads recommended the book Me Before You by  Jojo Moyes.  Well Mary has never lead me to a bad book so I took her recommendation and went off to find the book.  My online library had the book but not in audio format-plus the wait was LONG.  I checked at Audible and ended up burning a credit and got the book.

The book is set in England.  The reader was really good and her accent added to the story.  Will the main male character of the book is a quadriplegic.  Much of the book talks about extended complications that plague quadriplegics.  I learned a lot that I never knew.  It’s a little bit of a prince/poor girl story.  It’s a little bit of souls fighting to save each other.  It’s just good.

Here’s what Amazon said, “Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?”

Amazon readers give the book 4.6 stars.  I think I’d raise and say 4.8 which is about as high as I rate…It was a good book.  I highly recommend it.  There is a sequel to the book, After You: A Novel.  That one was available via my online library.  There is a waiting list for it but I think I am going to wait it out….

5 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Me Before You

  1. Nell

    I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED THIS BOOK! I can’t wait to see the movie when it is released in April! I just finished Still Alice-ripped my heart out!

    Reply
  2. Elana Goldberg

    This was one of my favorite books in the last few years. I completely loved it. I don’t know that I will love the sequel or movie but what a great read!! I would love to know some of the others that Mary has recommended to you. I’m always looking for other books that wow me!

    Reply
  3. Jocelyn

    Jo Jo Moyes is an amazing writer. I’ve read almost all of her books. If you have not read The Girl You Left Behind, I would suggest that one too.

    Reply
  4. Sue

    I just loved this book, which rather surprised me, as romantic fiction isn’t usually where my taste lie.

    Reply
  5. Laurie

    I liked this book and have read the sequel. My favorite book written by JoJo Moyes is One Plus One. It’s a must read.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.