What I’m Reading: Finding Jake

I just finished up listening to the audio book Finding Jake: A Novel by Bryan Reardon.  I have been on the waiting list for a bit so was excited when it was my turn on the list.

The book completely held my attention and it was a very good listen.  The book switches between past and present to tell the story a style that I typically like.  As I read, I immediately felt I knew what happened to Jake and where he was-and I was right.  I feel the book does loose a little of it’s punch once Jake is found but still a good book.

Here’s what Amazon had to say, “A heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does—and does not—know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need to Talk about Kevin.

While his successful wife goes off to her law office each day, Simon Connolly takes care of their kids, Jake and Laney. Now that they are in high school, the angst-ridden father should feel more relaxed, but he doesn’t. He’s seen the statistics, read the headlines. And now, his darkest fear is coming true. There has been a shooting at school.

Simon races to the rendezvous point, where he’s forced to wait. Do they know who did it? How many victims were there? Why did this happen? One by one, parents are led out of the room to reunite with their children. Their numbers dwindle, until Simon is alone.

As his worst nightmare unfolds, and Jake is the only child missing, Simon begins to obsess over the past, searching for answers, for hope, for the memory of the boy he raised, for mistakes he must have made, for the reason everything came to this. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Is it possible he doesn’t really know his son? Or he knows him better than he thought?

Brilliantly paced, Finding Jake explores these questions in a tense and emotionally wrenching narrative. Harrowing and heartbreaking, surprisingly healing and redemptive, it is a story of faith and conviction, strength, courage, and love that will leave readers questioning their own lives, and those they think they know.”

Amazon says 4.3 stars and I would agree.  All in all it was worth my time.

2 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: Finding Jake

  1. Lesley Gilbert

    I also listen to audio books and when you recommend something I always try to get it from my local library. Thanks for sharing your thoughts :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *