What I’m Reading: 29 Seconds

This book was on my waiting list.  I seem to fluctuate between historical fiction and books that involve crimes.  This one, 29 Seconds, by T. M. Morgan is definitely in the crime genre.


Remember how I’ve said I need to be able to relate to a character to truly love a book.  Well, I had trouble relating to the main character.  You’ll read much of this in the overview of the book so I don’t think I’m giving too much away.  So Sarah is given the option to eliminate one person from her life.  She chooses someone.  There is no way I could ever do that.  I’ll admit there have been people I have had trouble giving the benefit of the doubt to but never did a wish anyone dead.  Never have I wished some injured.  Never would I ever have or suggest someone be killed.  Because of that, I have trouble “liking” the book.  I hope that makes sense.

Here is what Amazon has to say:
The sensational new page-turning thriller from the number 1 bestselling author of LIES. Perfect for fans of FRIEND REQUEST by Laura Marshall and I AM WATCHING YOU by Tessa Driscoll. Give me one name. One person. And I will make them disappear . . . When Sarah rescues a young girl in trouble, she expects nothing in return. But her act of bravery puts a powerful and dangerous man in her debt. He lives by his own brutal code, and all debts must be repaid – in the only way he knows how. He offers Sarah a way to solve a desperate situation with her intolerable boss. A once-in-a-lifetime deal that will make all her problems disappear. No consequences. No comeback. No chance of being found out. All it takes is a 29 second phone call. BECAUSE EVERYONE HAS A NAME TO GIVE. DON’T THEY? Praise for T. M. Logan, the master of the everyman thriller ‘Assured, compelling, and hypnotically readable – with a twist at the end I guarantee you won’t see coming’ Lee Child ‘A tense and gripping thriller’ B A Paris, bestselling author of BEHIND CLOSED DOORS ‘So gripping I genuinely found it hard to put down’ KL Slater, bestselling author of BLINK ‘A compelling, twisty page-turner, and that’s the truth’ James Swallow, bestselling author of NOMAD

Amazon readers give the book 4.3 stars.  I think I am going to go with 4.1.  I finished the book but still had trouble relating to ever thinking I would be part of choosing anyone to dye.

You can find the book HERE if you are interested.

4 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: 29 Seconds

    1. Jo Post author

      I saw this. I have volunteered with our local pet rescue that I could foster a pup if some came this way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.