Category Archives: Book Club

Book Club: The Education of Dixie Dupree

A blog reader mentioned a book to me by the author Donna Everhart.  I had already read the book.  I decided to give another of her books a try.  I picked The Education of Dixie Dupree and was wondering if any of you would like to read it along with me.


I am going to warn that this book does deal with a rape and anyone sensitive to that, may want to avoid the book.

My plan is that you could get a copy and read…we can meet up together on August 1st and you can all share what you think of the book.

Here is what Amazon had to say:
Continue reading

Book Club: The Last House on the Street

I have been singing the praises of author Diane Chamberlain.  She’s written some awesome books that I’ve been super excited about and have written reviews for here on the blog.   The Last House on the Street is her latest book and it’s our Book Club book for May with discussion to happen today June 1st.

The Last House on the Street is considered historical fiction.  Amazon readers gave it 4.6 stars.

Here is the synopsis from Amazon:
Continue reading

Book Club: The Winemaker’s Wife

I have been singing the praises of author Kristin Harmel and asked you to join me in reading her book, The Winemaker’s Wife, and joining me for a book club review.  Today is the day for us to get together and chat.

The Winemaker's Wife by [Kristin Harmel]
Here is the synopsis from Amazon:

At the dawn of the Second World War, Inès is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Inès feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo’s wife, Sarah.

But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger from German forces pouring across the border. At first, it’s merely the Nazi weinführer coming to demand the choicest champagne for Hitler’s cronies, but soon, there are rumors of Jewish townspeople being rounded up and sent east to an unspeakable fate. The war is on their doorstep, and no one in Inès’s life is safe – least of all Sarah, whose father is Jewish, or Michel, who has recklessly begun hiding munitions for the Résistance in the champagne caves. Inès realizes she has to do something to help.

Sarah feels as lost as Inès does, but she doesn’t have much else in common with Michel’s young wife. Inès seems to have it made, not least of all because as a Catholic, she’s “safe.” Sarah, on the other hand, is terrified about the fate of her parents – and about her own future as the Germans begin to rid the Champagne region of Jews. When Sarah makes a dangerous decision to follow her heart in a desperate bid to find some meaning in the ruin, it endangers the lives of all those she cares about – and the champagne house they’ve all worked so hard to save.

In the present, Liv Kent has just lost her job – and her marriage. Her wealthy but aloof Grandma Edith, sensing that Liv needs a change of scenery before she hits rock bottom, insists that Liv accompany her on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive – and some difficult but important information to share with her granddaughter. As Liv begins to uncover long-buried family secrets, she finds herself slowly coming back to life. When past and present intertwine at last, she may finally find a way forward, along a difficult road that leads straight to the winding caves beneath the House of Chauveau.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network, The Winemaker’s Wife is an evocative and gorgeously wrought novel that examines how the choices we make in our darkest hours can profoundly change our lives – and how hope can come from the places we least expect.”

Now for some questions for us to chat about…
Continue reading

Book Club for June: The Last House on the Street

I have been singing the praises of author Diane Chamberlain.  She’s written some awesome books that I’ve been super excited about and have written reviews for here on the blog.  I discovered she has another book, The Last House on the Street, and I wondered if you all might want to read along with me and have a little book club review after we’re all finished.


Right now with the book club, we are reading The Winemaker’s Wife, but I wanted to announce the new book so you all had time to find it or put it on a waitlist.

The Winemaker’s Wife will be discussed on May 1st.
The Last House on the Street will be discussed on June 1st.

I trying to list books ahead of time so you have time to find and read them.

The Last House on the Street is considered historical fiction.  Amazon readers gave it 4.6 stars.  That’s with over 2400 reviews so I think it’s a good one to read.

Here is the synopsis from Amazon:
Continue reading