Book Club Day: The Dog Lived (and so will I)

Today is book club day.  It’s our day to discuss our latest book The Dog Lived (and so will I) by Teresa Rhyne. 

I have to say I was so happy when I knew from the very-very beginning that the dog was going to live.  I know many of you are like me and just knowing the dog is going to die leaves you knowing you’re going to need a box of tissues.  I’ve loved some great books that the dog dies in but I wasn’t up for that kind of story.

 

I was immediately attracted to this book because there was a dog and not only a dog but a beagle dog.  Thing #2 that got me, this is a memoir from a lady who is diagnosed with cancer.

So did I like it…YES!!

Ever since I read the last book club book, Everything Beautiful in its Time by Jenna Bush Haegar where Jenna writes about how her Grandmother said to be well-read and read books from different genres I’ve been trying to do that more.  That’s one of the reasons I picked this book.

Rather than me go on and on about what I liked about the book, I’m going to give you a chance to talk.  Leave a comment in the comment section.  I’ll comment back.  I’d love to hear what you think!!

Feel free to write anything you thought about the book.  I’d love to hear your thoughts on May/December relationships, the dog’s behavior, spending so much on vet bills, the not so nice vet, the awesome cancer doctor, or anything else that made you think in the book.

For those of you who didn’t read the book, here is Amazon’s review of the book:

Teresa Rhyne vowed to get things right this time around: new boyfriend, new house, new dog, maybe even new job. But shortly after she adopted Seamus, a totally incorrigible beagle, vets told Teresa that he had a malignant tumor and less than a year to live. The diagnosis devastated her, but she decided to fight it, learning everything she could about the best treatment for Seamus. Teresa couldn’t possibly have known then that she was preparing herself for life’s next hurdle – a cancer diagnosis of her own.

She forged ahead with survival, battling a deadly disease, fighting for doctors she needed, and baring her heart for a seemingly star-crossed relationship. The Dog Lived (and so Will I) is an uplifting and heartwarming story about how dogs steal our hearts, show us how to live, and teach us how to love.

A heartwarming, hilarious book about dogs, relationships, and surviving life’s challenges with humor and grace is perfect for fans of Marley and Me, The Middle Place and A Dog’s Purpose will love this touching memoir.”

Here is a trailer the author did about the book…  Just push play to watch.  I’m putting this here so those of you who didn’t read the book can get an idea of the author and her sweet, mischievous, beagle.

Amazon gives the book 4.5 stars…I am going to give this book a 4.8.  Having been diagnosed with cancer, the author does a great job sharing the feelings of a cancer survivor.  I loved that…also being the owner of a dog that acts up some…I can totally relate!

I was able to find my copy in my library, Hoopla Digital.  If you are intrigued by our comments and would like to read it, you can find it HERE in this Amazon link.

If you have a book you would like to suggest for the book club, please leave a comment in the comment section.  You don’t have to have read the book…it can be one that caught your eye.  I can’t wait to read your comments.

10 thoughts on “Book Club Day: The Dog Lived (and so will I)

  1. Jill Klop

    I missed this recommendation! I’m not sure how, but I never saw the post! I’ll have to check it out! Thanks for the idea! I also like knowing the dog lived!

    Reply
  2. Diane in WA

    I guess I missed the post also. It sounds good. I just downloaded it from my library. I too need to read different types of books. I tend toward mysteries.

    Reply
  3. Roberta McKiski

    Im not sure if youve read or reviewed this book, but I just loved it.
    Stars Over Clear Lake by Loretta Ellsworth.
    Life during WW 2 in rural Iowa. If you havent read it, please do.
    Two more favs from years ago:
    The Moonflower Vine. Jetta Carleton and The year of the Locusts. Lula Grace Erdman. Have reread these many times.
    Love you, Roberta McKiski. Nulaandbud@gmail.com

    Reply
  4. Beryl BC

    I missed the post announcing this book. I think I’ll hunt for this book to read. It sounds like I would like it.

    Reply
  5. Rachel Summy

    I’m about done reading Upstairs at the White House, My Life with the First Ladies by JB West. It’s very interesting and filled with historical insights.

    Reply
  6. Aileen

    Just finished this book. Really enjoyed it. I read it on Hoopla and see she’s written a second book, will try that one soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *