Book Club Anyone?? The Winemaker’s Wife

I have been singing the praises of author Kristin Harmel.  She’s written some awesome books that I’ve been super excited about and have written reviews for here on the blog.  I discovered she has another book, The Winemaker’s Wife, and I wondered if you all might want to read along with me and have a little book club review after we’re all finished.

The Winemaker's Wife by [Kristin Harmel]
My thought was that we could all try to find the book, then start reading at your leisure with the hope of finishing the book and having a discussion about it on May 1st.  That should give you all plenty of time and allow those of you who will be trying to find it through your library to get it and those of you who are busy to find some time to squeeze in some reading time.

I have read several others of her books and this one looks promising too.  Here is the info from Amazon about the book…At the dawn of the Second World War, Inès is the young wife of Michel, owner of the House of Chauveau, a small champagne winery nestled among rolling vineyards near Reims, France. Marrying into a storied champagne empire was supposed to be a dream come true, but Inès feels increasingly isolated, purposely left out of the business by her husband; his chef de cave, Theo; and Theo’s wife, Sarah.

But these disappointments pale in comparison to the increasing danger from German forces pouring across the border. At first, it’s merely the Nazi weinführer coming to demand the choicest champagne for Hitler’s cronies, but soon, there are rumors of Jewish townspeople being rounded up and sent east to an unspeakable fate. The war is on their doorstep, and no one in Inès’s life is safe – least of all Sarah, whose father is Jewish, or Michel, who has recklessly begun hiding munitions for the Résistance in the champagne caves. Inès realizes she has to do something to help.

Sarah feels as lost as Inès does, but she doesn’t have much else in common with Michel’s young wife. Inès seems to have it made, not least of all because as a Catholic, she’s “safe.” Sarah, on the other hand, is terrified about the fate of her parents – and about her own future as the Germans begin to rid the Champagne region of Jews. When Sarah makes a dangerous decision to follow her heart in a desperate bid to find some meaning in the ruin, it endangers the lives of all those she cares about – and the champagne house they’ve all worked so hard to save.

In the present, Liv Kent has just lost her job – and her marriage. Her wealthy but aloof Grandma Edith, sensing that Liv needs a change of scenery before she hits rock bottom, insists that Liv accompany her on a trip to France. But the older woman has an ulterior motive – and some difficult but important information to share with her granddaughter. As Liv begins to uncover long-buried family secrets, she finds herself slowly coming back to life. When past and present intertwine at last, she may finally find a way forward, along a difficult road that leads straight to the winding caves beneath the House of Chauveau.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Kate Quinn’s The Alice Network, The Winemaker’s Wife is an evocative and gorgeously wrought novel that examines how the choices we make in our darkest hours can profoundly change our lives – and how hope can come from the places we least expect.”

Amazon readers are giving the book 4.6 stars so that sounds promising.

You can find the book HERE on Amazon.
You can find a listing of all of the author’s books HERE.

I strongly recommend these two as there are my favorite.
The Book of Lost Names HERE.
When We Meet Again HERE.

I hope you will consider reading along with us.

26 thoughts on “Book Club Anyone?? The Winemaker’s Wife

  1. Gail L Piper

    That sounds like a good book – I enjoyed “The Alice Network”! Will be checking my library…

    Reply
  2. Gloria from CC

    Jo – I read this book last year and it is one of my favorite books. I should probably read it again because it’s been awhile and I read a book a week. Looking forward to the comments.

    Reply
  3. Linda B

    Count me in. Just got the book on my kindle from Amazon for $8.99. I haven’t been in a book club for a long time so I am really looking forward to this. Thank you!

    Reply
  4. Barbara Snyder

    Jo, I would LOVE to read this book with a group.
    I have placed it on hold at my library. Should get it within the next month.

    Reply
  5. Ginger

    I have read this book and liked it very much. I would look forward to hearing what others think of it via a book club discussion with your readers. I’m in!

    Reply
  6. Beryl BC

    I’ll try to read it. I’ve got some other things going, so don’t know if I’ll get it done or not. I do enjoy the read alongs.

    Reply
  7. Catherine O.

    I read “The winemaker’s wife” after you recommended the author. The book is well written. I enjoyed reading it. Thanks Jo.

    Reply
  8. Toni W.

    I think a book discussion club sounds like a great idea and the book sounds really good; I’m just not sure I want to read any books on this subject the way things are in the world at the moment. The Nightingale is one of my favorite books, but it was so heart-wrenching. I think I’ve read too many of these WWII historical novels so that today’s news scares the bejesus out of me. I’ll keep this in mind, though.
    I actually just read the prologue of The Book of Lost Names and am deciding if this will be my next read.

    Reply
  9. Janine Baker

    I’m in!!! I purchased this book for my local Library (even tho I’m retired, I still order books for them). I shall go in and get it next week! Looking forward to Book Club again-it’s been too long! Hugs,

    Reply
  10. Pingback: Jo's Country Junction

  11. Susan

    I am new to your blog and would enjoy joining your book club. I am not familiar with this author and enjoy finding new authors. Will find the book immediately.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.