What I’m Reading: The Cold Dish

I think many of you know that I don’t watch a lot of television.  Neither Hubby nor I like to spend our evening with our feet up watching.  We’d prefer to get things done.  Hubby does watch TV while he works on projects in the garage (I bought him a TV for the garage for Christmas one year and he told me he likely wouldn’t use it…I knew better).  Anyway, he likes it for background noise too.  Me, I listen to audio books while I sew.

Occasionally through the winter we do watch a show.  We really Longmire that is available through Netflix.  It is based on a book series written by Craig Johnson.  When I saw that my on line library had a couple audio books available by him I decided to give the books a try.  I started with The Cold Dish: A Longmire Mystery.

As a long time reader I typically like the books better than I like the movies or television shows.  I was hoping that would be the case here too…but was it?
YES!  I very much like the television series and I liked the book even more.  As some of the episodes are based on the books, in this book I thought I knew what the ending was because I watched the show….but then again, endings are often changed from television to book.  I won’t tell you the if they are the same or not just in case you read and watch too.

Anyway…here’s what Amazon had to say, “Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle.

With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.”

Amazon readers gave the book 4.5 stars.  I totally agree.  I will be reading many more of the books.  I looked.  It seems there are 15.  I am always looking for something to read in between some of the heavy Holocaust and tragedy books I listen too.  These will be a great break.

P.S.  I gave up on the book Under the Harrow: A Novel by Flynn Berry. I was about half way through and not thinking much about the book at all.  Then decided to read reviews and see if what I was feeling was true…yep.  Others felt the way I did and Amazon readers only gave it a 3.7 rating.  Um…Nope.  I have better books to spend my time on.

PDFPrint

7 thoughts on “What I’m Reading: The Cold Dish

  1. Kim LeMere

    I too enjoyed the Longmire TV series and went to hunt up the books, love them both. I have tired books on tape but I still prefer to turn the page. Glad you are also enjoying them. Hope your foot is doing better and that you are getting time to put it up during the day.

  2. Karen E

    Jo, when you finish a quilt, do you wash them first, or leave it up to the receiver? I always wonder if I should, or just send the color catchers and instructions with the quilt when I gift it.
    Thank you for your daily blogs. I’m in California, so it arrives about 4:00pm everyday, and I look forward to seeing what you and yours are up to everyday. Love, love, love your quilts!

  3. Anne Simonot

    I finished Under the Harrow, but it left me feeling underwhelmed too. Blech.. waste of time.

  4. Mary Ann Harpe

    Suggests a book I just read, first in a series: Mr. Churchill’s Secretary
    Novel by Susan Elia MacNeal. Takes place in London just before and thru the Blitz. Qite a bit of history that I even didn’t know. Did take me a bit to get into the story but once in, loved it.

  5. Margie

    I’m glad you like the book. Absaroka county is a fictionalization of the county near me in Wyoming. Worland, my town, makes it into some of his books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *