Giveaway from Heat Press Batting Together

Some time ago, I told you all about Heat Press Batting Together…I am so in love with it, I wanted to tell you about it again.

The product is designed to help quilters use up scrap pieces of batting. I tried it out using Warm and Natural.  To use it I took two pieces of batting. I trimmed the edges to make straight lines. I butted the seams together, put the tape over the top and ironed it down. It worked PERFECTLY. I really liked it.

I had questions and comments asking could I sew through it?  Could you feel it in the quilt after it was quilted?  I have use two rolls now and feel I can honestly answer your those questions.

You can EASILY sew through it.  I didn’t notice any difference with or without the product as I was quilting.  After the quilt was quilted, I could not feel the product in the quilt…so I think the product is a WIN-WIN all the way around.  I have used it in five different quilts now and can’t find a single bad thing to say about it.

10 yards comes in a package for $8.  Estimating that I making quilts that are about 90 inches, I would need 2.5 to 3″ yards for each quilt.  It figures out to be 80 cents a yard or about 2.25 per quilt depending size.  I personally think it is worth it.   Of course if you are piecing batting together for a baby quilt, you’d use much less and the cost would be less as well.

I am now completely converted and will be using “Heat Press Batting Together” all the time.  I had run out and needed to piece some batting scraps together…UGH.  I ended up sewing them together with my machine and ended up with a wavy mess that I had to rip out.  I’m not doing that anymore.

I was going to plan a trip to the nearest quilt shop, which is an hour away, that handles the product but after checking it out I found out that I can order it right from the company so no more worrying driving an hour and then being tempted by fabric.

After a visit to the company website I saw that the product can even be used by long armers and can be used even if you already have your project loaded in the machine.  I could have used that information a quilt or two ago.  I had one piece of batting that I thought was long enough but a few inches from the edge, I realized I had loaded the batting in the wrong directions.  I had to hand stitch a piece of batting in place.

Take some time and check out their site for more information and there is even a video on their product Heat Press Batting Together.  I am guessing you’ll be like me and think  you can live without find out it, then go back to the old way of sewing batting together and realize the Heat Press Batting Together is a must.

I loved the product so much that I contacted Heat Press Batting Together and asked if they would be willing to give some away and they said yes!  TWO lucky readers will each win a roll.  Here’s what you need to do….

Leave a comment.  (how easy was that!)

When I do giveaways, I never require people to friend Jo’s Country Junction on facebook, follow my blog, add me to your blog roll or do any of those things….like me, the LAST thing you need in your life is any more junk…but those things are available if you’re looking for them.

So…Comment away.  I’ll leave comments open and pick a winner on Monday.

91 comments

1 Sponsored Giveaway — Jo's Country Junction { 03.09.11 at 12:55 pm }

[...] Hey all…great news….I have a giveaway!  It’s from Heat Press Batting Together.  Follow this link to my review page and I’ll tell you all about it! [...]

2 Allison Gougeon { 03.09.11 at 1:09 pm }

How cool is that!! Would love to win some to use up some of the pieces of left over batting I have been saving! thanks for the chance to win!

3 kaholly { 03.09.11 at 1:11 pm }

Wow, that’s quite a product. How come I didn’t invent it? I’m always puzzling together scrap pieces of batting?? Thanks for the give-away!~karen

4 Donna { 03.09.11 at 1:16 pm }

Like every one else, I have a lot of leftover batting and have tried sewing it with different stitches to connect the pieces. It works but you really can feel the “bumps”.
Wow – what a neat idea! Just tape it together! What a time saver and how nice that you won’t know the difference between pieced and whole pieces of batting!
PS – hoping your puppy feels better soon!

5 Darlene B { 03.09.11 at 1:19 pm }

This sounds like a great product! I made a king size quilt and had to piece a long strip of batting to one end. I hand sewed it on the floor on my hands and knees….never again! This product looks like a great time saver!

6 Kelli { 03.09.11 at 1:48 pm }

I would love to try this out and after your glowing recommendation, it sounds like a definite winner! I hate when I get a quilt top all nice looking only to see that I’ll need to piece together some batting and hope that it doesn’t show through. But I’m too cheap to just go buy new batting each time, so this sounds like the perfect solution.
P.S. Thanks for not making us jump through hoops to enter. I do the same on my blog. I still have a dialup connection and having to do multiple things to win just isn’t easy for me.

7 Donna A { 03.09.11 at 1:50 pm }

I got some of that product for my sister early this year. They only had one roll left so I didn’t get one for myself. It is so nice to know that you can order it right from the company. I have quite a few pieces of batting scraps that could be put to good use with this product.

8 Barbara Lanning { 03.09.11 at 2:09 pm }

Wow! That is very generous! I would love to give it a try! PS – I love your blog and look forward to it each day!

9 Pam in KC { 03.09.11 at 2:26 pm }

If I don’t win, I’ll have to buy a roll and give it a try.

10 Judy D in WA { 03.09.11 at 2:30 pm }

I would love to try this. And thanks for making entry to the give away short and sweet. :)

11 LoriD { 03.09.11 at 2:51 pm }

It is nice to get a re-review now that it has been in quilts for awhile. it looks like a terrific product and if I don’t win I’ll need to find some.

12 Beryl Redfield { 03.09.11 at 3:41 pm }

I would love to give this product a try, thanks for the chance to win.

13 Judith meister { 03.09.11 at 3:50 pm }

This sounds like a wonderful product- I’d love to try it! Great giveaway!

14 Tressa { 03.09.11 at 4:05 pm }

What a nice thing to give away–I’ve got batting that I’m just too afraid to piece together because I know that I’d have to just rip the sewing all out. So I’d like to toss my name into the giveaway. Thanks.

15 Barb H. { 03.09.11 at 4:46 pm }

This product sounds very interesting and effective. I haven’t joined batting together for years as I can’t do the kneel on the floor thingey after hip replacement. This sounds like it would be wonderful!!
Love your blog — starts my day!!
Barb H.

16 Michele { 03.09.11 at 5:25 pm }

This sounds like a wonderful product! I’d love to give it a try. Thanks for mentioning a giveaway to the company so someone could have a chance to try it out. Great idea!

17 Sue Goodin { 03.09.11 at 5:39 pm }

Oh I hope I win. I have been wanting to try this, but keep forgetting to look for it when I go on my road trips. Thanks for the giveaway and congrats to the winner.

18 krisgray { 03.09.11 at 6:34 pm }

I ran and bought a roll after your initial review a few months ago. LOVE IT! I have more batt scraps to use and my roll is almost gone.

19 Amy { 03.09.11 at 6:45 pm }

That’s awesome. Just had that problem last night.

20 Donna McGraw { 03.09.11 at 7:10 pm }

I would love to try it out. It would save a lot of time and sewing as I am always piecing batting toghether to get the right sizes I need for my quilts.It sounds like a very time saving benefit for all of us quilters .

21 Lainee { 03.09.11 at 7:12 pm }

Everything cotton is getting so expensive…waste not but I’ll still want! If I don’t win, I also will have to buy some.

22 Deb { 03.09.11 at 7:31 pm }

I’ve been meaning to get some of this and forget everytime I go into our local quilt store. I have so many pieces of batting and don’t like to take the time to sew them together. (It takes up precious sewing and quilting time.) Love reading your blog and on your facebook page.

23 Karen Long { 03.09.11 at 7:55 pm }

What a great idea, I live in Australia and I have never seen anything like this here.
Karen

24 Janet { 03.09.11 at 8:02 pm }

I actually spent a chunk of time trying to work with batting scraps last Sunday – I remembered your mentioning this product and kicked myself for not tracking it down – I’d love to win some! Thanks for the opportunity.

25 Alex { 03.09.11 at 8:38 pm }

Wow, this sounds awesome. Here in Germany we don’t have large pieces of batting (or mayby the quiltshops close by don’t sell them). So when I’m making a quilt for my family I always have to sew the betting together and it is just so … ugh. So mayby I will have to make a trip to the US again in order to buy a lot of things to quilt with.
By the way I love your blog (and hope I didn’t make too many mistakes)

26 Edna { 03.09.11 at 9:24 pm }

WOW! Would love to win a giveaway……Thanks

27 Nancy { 03.09.11 at 9:50 pm }

Would love to win this to try it out.

28 Cathy { 03.09.11 at 10:10 pm }

I would love to try this stuff. I just finished a quilt for a fundraiser benefit for a friend and now I’m working on two baby quilts and I could sure use this to piece my batting!

29 Mary H. { 03.09.11 at 10:33 pm }

This looks really cool. Can’t wait to try it out.

30 Deborah Harmon { 03.10.11 at 12:12 am }

Sounds like a really cool product. I think I really need it. I have a large tote full of warm and natural scraps that I would love to use up.

Debbie in WV

31 Annie { 03.10.11 at 12:42 am }

Sounds like a great product. Right now I sew my pieces together – this could save me a lot of time.

32 Deb { 03.10.11 at 1:00 am }

Love this stuff! Thanks for the chance to win a roll!

33 Gayle { 03.10.11 at 2:43 am }

This product is the answer to my prayers! I’ve got SO many small pieces of cotton batting saved – how wonderful it will be to use it up! Sure do hope I’m one of your lucky winners!

34 Brenda { 03.10.11 at 3:05 am }

Very handy give away. Heard about this product just the other day and had to confess I have never see it or used it. Would sure save on batting using this. Thanks for the opportunity to possibly win some.

35 Catherine { 03.10.11 at 3:49 am }

I use batting scraps all the time, I try to use every bit. This product is a heaven sent. I would love to win. Thanks for the opportunity.

36 Marcy { 03.10.11 at 4:51 am }

My quilt shop sold out of this product immediately. It must be a great product and anxious to try it and use up my scraps of batting. Nice blog, btw.

37 bingobonnie { 03.10.11 at 6:26 am }

wow – I too could have used this stuff about a week ago when I did the “but up and zig-zag stitch” along the scraps of batting.

That is fantastic you can order it directly form them! So glad you shared your review with us!!!

Love from Texas! ~bonnie

38 SewCalGal { 03.10.11 at 6:39 am }

Thanks for sharing your insights and the chance to win.

SewCalGal
http://www.sewcalgal.blogspot.com

39 sue { 03.10.11 at 10:14 am }

FIRST TIME I HAVE HEARD OF THIS PRODUCT SOUNDS LIKE IT WOULD BE EXCELLENT

40 darandsam { 03.10.11 at 10:33 am }

This sounds like a good product to have on hand. I can think of many uses for it. Thanks for the info.

41 Jan { 03.10.11 at 10:35 am }

Oh wow!! What a way to use and not throw away! Must try some

42 Betty { 03.10.11 at 10:46 am }

I am a longarm quilter and have lots of batting trimmed from quilts. I would love to try this product.

43 Jan { 03.10.11 at 11:49 am }

This soun ds like a fabulous way to use all those batting scraps that I have piled up on a shelf in my laundry area.

44 ana sweet { 03.10.11 at 11:55 am }

We were just talking about the scrap batting issue at our charity group. This product sounds fantastic. Thanks for posting and letting us know about it.

45 Karen { 03.10.11 at 12:21 pm }

I have heard so much about this and would love to try it!
Thanks to you and Heat Press Batting Together for your generosity!

46 Charity { 03.10.11 at 12:54 pm }

Wow, that could really come in handy. I have a whole shelf of left over batting pieces. I tend to make big quilts and not little projects. So the pile just keeps growing. This could be just what I need.

47 Barbara { 03.10.11 at 12:55 pm }

I have been wanting to try this product for the longest time. Thank you for your review of it and thank you for the chance to win some!

48 Mary Ellen { 03.10.11 at 1:35 pm }

Sounds like a nifty notion to have! I have been in the same place – basting together a quilt sandwich just to find the batting I so carefully measured ended up too short. :( I would like to win this and give it a try! Have you tried hand quilting through it??

49 Sandi { 03.10.11 at 1:35 pm }

What a neat product. I’d love to try it as I sure have plenty of leftover batting.

50 Wilhelmina Griffin { 03.10.11 at 1:55 pm }

I would love to try some of that as I have never seen this . I make quite a few quilts and have a lot of strips of batting left over. Thanks for sharing .

51 Shirley { 03.10.11 at 2:06 pm }

Great idea! So convenient and practical to have a quick and easy way to use up our batting pieces.
Shirley

52 Janet C { 03.10.11 at 2:10 pm }

I’ve wanted to try this product for some time now. It would save so much time and be neater than zig zag stitching.

53 sally { 03.10.11 at 4:38 pm }

This sounds like a really neat product. I would love to give it a try. Thanks for the opportunity to win a roll of it! Sure wish I had invented it!

54 Kathy { 03.10.11 at 5:46 pm }

I would love to try this out and after your recommendation, it sounds like a great product!

55 JanyceR { 03.10.11 at 6:25 pm }

This really sounds like a great product and worth trying out. Thanks for the information!

56 Ginger Sheppard { 03.10.11 at 7:22 pm }

Sounds like a great idea! Will want some of that!

57 Sandyncal { 03.10.11 at 8:03 pm }

Oh I need this product, I have alot of pieces of batting floating around. I just saw this being used last night on Quilt in a Day. I was thinking then I had to find some of it. Thanks for the giveaway.

58 MaryEllen { 03.10.11 at 8:13 pm }

WOW…sounds like the best thing since sliced bread….LOL
Would love to be picked for a free roll.
Thank you

59 debbie siltala { 03.10.11 at 9:07 pm }

I have been waiting for reviews on this product . Glad to hear it really works. I would love to win a roll of this to try out

60 Nancy Luthy { 03.10.11 at 9:26 pm }

Enjoyed your blog and watching the video on the Heat Press Batting site. Really sounds like it would work well! Thanks for encouraging a give away!

61 Becky in Georgia { 03.10.11 at 9:29 pm }

I sewed batting together once and could not stand it. Since then I’ve used my scraps for rag quilts. Would love to give this product a try. Thanks for the wonderful review!

62 Pam { 03.10.11 at 9:32 pm }

I could have used some of this a few quilts ago too. Sound like a wonderful product. Thanks for the giveaway.

63 Cherie Moore { 03.10.11 at 9:43 pm }

I would love to give this a try….I have the leaning tower of batting scraps in my sewing room!

64 Christine M { 03.10.11 at 11:27 pm }

I’ve never heard of this before. Sounds like a great idea!

65 Judy D in AZ { 03.11.11 at 12:52 am }

What a find. I can hardly wiat to try it out-even if I have to pay for it. Thanks for this and your other tips too.

66 Beth { 03.11.11 at 1:06 am }

Sounds really neat. No more zigging and zagging. And you did the cost analysis too. I would like to try it please. It is not in Jacksonville yet.

67 Pam Duxbury { 03.11.11 at 1:07 am }

Wow what a great way to use the ends from other products or smaller quilts. I hate to buy a small package of batting for a baby quilt when I know I will need more for the next quilt. And I do not make baby quilts small anyway. Thank you for the chance to win.

68 LeAnn { 03.11.11 at 1:42 am }

This sounds like an awesome product that I could really use. I piece batting together all the time. Thanks for the give-a-way!

69 Sandy A { 03.11.11 at 1:45 am }

Wow, I have pieces of batting I was wondering what to do with, and now I know! Would love to give this a try. Thanks for the chance to win!

70 Lorraine Bradley { 03.11.11 at 3:23 am }

Double Wow, this will save me from butting the batting together and zig zagging them together which doesn’t matter how careful I am I get a big wave in the batting. Look forward to using this product.

71 Terry { 03.11.11 at 3:25 am }

Jo, I love your web site and think this product would be very beneficial. Do you know if you can you use it with poly batting. I have both poly and hobbs 80/20 batting in scraps and would love to win some.

72 Lynn D in NC { 03.11.11 at 4:25 am }

I would love to win this and try it out. I’ve got just the project doing on right now where I could use it. So please pick me.

73 PattyS { 03.11.11 at 5:17 pm }

What a neat product they have developed!! I would love to win a roll of “Heat Press Batting Tape”. I like being able to use my batting scraps.
Thanks….

74 heleen { 03.11.11 at 9:04 pm }

what a lovely product. thanks for the giveaway

75 Margaret { 03.11.11 at 11:18 pm }

This looks like a terrific product, just the thing for using leftover pieces up. Thanks for the giveaway!

76 Linda { 03.12.11 at 2:11 am }

That batting together sure beats zig zag sewing batting pieces together. Thanks for the chance to win. BTW Jo, on the Halloween bag out of the Tumbler block die – did you use the smaller die or the 6 1/2 inch?

77 melissa raddetz { 03.13.11 at 3:40 am }

What a timesaver!

78 Sunday Stash Report and a Giveaway — Jo's Country Junction { 03.13.11 at 3:56 am }

[...] If you want to see something else that’s looking good, follow this link to get in on the giveaway I am hosting for a new product called Heat Press Batting Together.  It’s a great….I can’t say enough good things about it!   Follow this link to learn more. [...]

79 Susan Casanova { 03.13.11 at 6:02 am }

This sounds like a great product. Finally a way to join smaller pieces of batting without all of the zig zagging and snagging.

80 Patricia { 03.13.11 at 1:11 pm }

I have heard about this and would love to try it. Thanks for the opportunity.

81 Karen { 03.13.11 at 1:23 pm }

I was giving heat press batting tape as a gift. I love it. I would love to have another roll. I enjoy readin your blog. Thanks.

82 Cheri { 03.13.11 at 1:32 pm }

Thanks for all your research and reporting and for the opportunity to win this product.

83 Teri { 03.13.11 at 1:35 pm }

Looks like a useful project. Funny you should have a review of this as I have a huge pile of batting scraps I am trying to use up. I have used lightweight fusible interfacing with good success before also. This would me much easier than cutting narrow strips of interfacing.

84 Amy (NW WI) { 03.13.11 at 1:45 pm }

This certainly seems to be a useful new tool (?) to try out. Thank you for thinking of asking the company for a giveaway donation!

85 Barb in MI { 03.13.11 at 2:17 pm }

I heard about this product at our last guild meet – looks like a perfect way to find a home for all the batting pieces that don’t fit for anything! Thanks for the giveaway!

86 Kay Smith { 03.13.11 at 3:26 pm }

I have heard about this product. Like others, I have not tried it yet. Still sew my peices together.

87 LoriD { 03.13.11 at 4:01 pm }

I saw some of that this weekend and was going to purchase it but it said it was for 100%poly! What’s up with that?!

88 Julie T. { 03.14.11 at 4:59 am }

Thanks! I have been wondering how I was going to get a piece of batting big enough for one of my large quilts. Now I know what to do! If I make a quilt, I like to make it big enough to go on a queen size bed. Now, I can just keep making those big quilts with the knowledge that there is a product out there that makes it easier to join batting together!

89 Colleen M { 03.14.11 at 5:18 pm }

Sounds like a great product! Thanks for the opportunity!

90 Tammy K. { 03.15.11 at 1:35 am }

cool product!

91 Barbara Y { 03.20.11 at 1:29 am }

I would love to try this product. I have some batting scraps that would make several baby quilts if they were put together. Hope I get to try it.

Leave a Comment