What I’m Reading: Finding Jake

image_pdfimage_print

I just finished up listening to the audio book Finding Jake: A Novel by Bryan Reardon.  I have been on the waiting list for a bit so was excited when it was my turn on the list.

The book completely held my attention and it was a very good listen.  The book switches between past and present to tell the story a style that I typically like.  As I read, I immediately felt I knew what happened to Jake and where he was-and I was right.  I feel the book does loose a little of it’s punch once Jake is found but still a good book.

Here’s what Amazon had to say, “A heart-wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of psychological suspense in which a parent is forced to confront what he does—and does not—know about his teenage son, in the vein of Reconstructing Amelia, Defending Jacob, and We Need to Talk about Kevin.

While his successful wife goes off to her law office each day, Simon Connolly takes care of their kids, Jake and Laney. Now that they are in high school, the angst-ridden father should feel more relaxed, but he doesn’t. He’s seen the statistics, read the headlines. And now, his darkest fear is coming true. There has been a shooting at school.

Simon races to the rendezvous point, where he’s forced to wait. Do they know who did it? How many victims were there? Why did this happen? One by one, parents are led out of the room to reunite with their children. Their numbers dwindle, until Simon is alone.

As his worst nightmare unfolds, and Jake is the only child missing, Simon begins to obsess over the past, searching for answers, for hope, for the memory of the boy he raised, for mistakes he must have made, for the reason everything came to this. Where is Jake? What happened in those final moments? Is it possible he doesn’t really know his son? Or he knows him better than he thought?

Brilliantly paced, Finding Jake explores these questions in a tense and emotionally wrenching narrative. Harrowing and heartbreaking, surprisingly healing and redemptive, it is a story of faith and conviction, strength, courage, and love that will leave readers questioning their own lives, and those they think they know.”

Amazon says 4.3 stars and I would agree.  All in all it was worth my time.

What I’m Reading: Dog Crazy

image_pdfimage_print

I just finished up listening to the audio book Dog Crazy: A Novel of Love Lost and Found by Meg Donohue.

How do I resist a dog book…I can’t.  This one was pretty good.  It’s a light reading-cry in the middle-happy ending book…nothing deep, nothing dark.  It’s a good happy ending story that is great for a light summer read.

Here’s what Amazon had to say, “The USA Today bestselling author of How to Eat a Cupcake and All the Summer Girls returns with an unforgettably poignant and funny tale of love and loss, confronting our fears, and moving on . . . with the help of a poodle, a mutt, and a Basset retriever named Seymour.

As a pet bereavement counselor, Maggie Brennan uses a combination of empathy, insight, and humor to help patients cope with the anguish of losing their beloved four-legged friends. Though she has a gift for guiding others through difficult situations, Maggie has major troubles of her own that threaten the success of her counseling practice and her volunteer work with a dog rescue organization.

Everything changes when a distraught woman shows up at Maggie’s office and claims that her dog has been stolen. Searching the streets of San Francisco for the missing pooch, Maggie finds herself entangled in a mystery that forces her to finally face her biggest fear-and to open her heart to new love.

Packed with deep emotion and charming surprises, Dog Crazy is a bighearted and entertaining story that skillfully captures the bonds of love, the pain of separation, and the power of our dogs to heal us.”

Amazon readers give the book 4.5 stars.  I’d say 4.2.  It was well written and a good book.  I just prefer books that have a little more meat or history to them.  I did enjoy the audio book and recommend it.  I think the book would be quick read.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...